Fool me once, shame on you!

Well, today my, too smart for his own good, son learned a valuable lesson. Don’t try to fool mom with the “I’m sick. Can you please come and pick me up.” routine.

I received a phone call from his school at 2:25 pm saying he wasn’t feeling well and he didn’t feel up to finishing his day and taking the bus home.

Now at the time, I honestly thought it was feasible that he could possibly be sick. Our little bear was sick all last week and ladybug wasn’t herself today either, so I, in my ‘cleaning the house all day’ attire, made the 15 min trek to town to pick him up.

When I got there it was pretty clear that, although he maybe a little tired, he was well enough that he could have finished his day. However, by this point there was only 20 mins left of class, a 20 min recess and a 40 min bus ride home… so I brought him home.

Upon arriving home, his sickness seemed to miraculously be cured.

He could run. He could spin. He could hop around like a lunatic.

I questioned his claim.

“But I am sick, Momma. My head hurts.” was the answer I received.

No, I really don’t think you are.

And in all my motherly wisdom, I calmly (although possibly with a slightly increased volume) informed my dear son that there are consequenses for boys who cry wolf and the next time he calls home claiming to be “sick”, he’d better have some solid evidence to back up the claim otherwise he will be out of luck!

“You’ll have to be running a fever off the chart or throwing up a lung before I ever agree to bring you home early again.” were my final words.

From now on there will be no ‘get out of school free’ cards.

Tough lesson for a seven year old.    

Fool me once, shame on you.
Fool me twice, shame on me.

And for the record my little peanut,

your Momma ain’t no fool.

About Jen Black

Jennifer is a stay at home mom of three raising her family with her "agvocating" husband on a farm in Huron County, Ontario. She is a designer, photographer, Social Media junkie and blogger. Her former life included advertising, marketing, and life in the big city. You can follow her on twitter @jennileeblack

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Just my thoughts, My Peanut and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. He probably wanted to get home and spend more time with his mom! Or get ready to watch the hockey playoffs!!

    • maybe and I appreciate both options but I can’t let him know that. And I know that the real reason I brought him home anyway was because I love having him home with me too but again, I can’t let him know that….he’d play me like a fiddle! 🙂

Leave a Reply

