Just a quick trip to the grocery store.

With three children, it’s not very often that I get to spend a day with just my little bear. Usually, there’s a whirlwind of activity that leaves me at the end of the day wondering if I gave enough of myself to any one of my kids. Don’t get me wrong, I’m always engulfed in stuff for my kids — making meals, doing laundry, shuttling from one activity or appointment to another, but that hardly covers the hugs and face to face interaction you hope to give them.

Well today was a good day! With the two older kids in school, I got to spend the day with my youngest and, as usual, she didn’t disappoint!

When I asked her why she was so excited today, she said, “Cuz my have things to do Momma!”

“Oh ya?”, I replied. “Like what?”

“Shaker Bear needs to go outside!” I was told. (Shaker Bear is her new term of endearment for our dog, Shakespeare)

“Ok and after you let him out, then what are you going to do?” I asked.

"Shaker Bear"

“Oh! my don’t know… OH! my know! My go grocey shopping with you Momma.”

“Really?” I said. “I wasn’t planning on going grocery shopping today.”

“Yes. My NEED grocies momma! My need ogurt, turkey bites, um nanas, and gacin needs orges!”

“Well, ok then I guess we’d better go to town then.”

So we headed to town where she reminded me at every turn what she “NEEDED” and what was next on the list.

And while we were shopping she chattered away…

Chattering 🙂

  • “Hey! My show you where my “gapes” are.”
  • why she likes “gapes”
  • why she needs a Snow White toothbrush
  • how Daddy was going to his meeting
  • “My really like my meeting coat.”
  • that she likes bouncin’ and “Tigger bounces!”

And then it happened. You know, that moment during a day that you wish you could just package up and keep forever.

We were walking down the aisle and she yelled “STOP Momma!”

“What’s the matter?” I asked

“Nothing” she said. “My just need hug you.”

And with that she reach up and gave me the biggest hug her little body could muster and melted my heart.

Taking time to just be together.

When I thanked her for the hug and told her it was one of the best I’d ever had, she just smiled and said “My love you Momma.”

We headed home with a trunk full of food, my little bear fell peacefully asleep in her seat and I have a memory I will cherish forever.

And with that my day was complete. 

She was thrilled to get to go “grocey shopping” and I was reminded to take the time to see my kids. To hear their thoughts. To feel their love and cherish every moment, even the trips to the “grocey” store.

About Jen Black

Jennifer is a stay at home mom of three raising her family with her "agvocating" husband on a farm in Huron County, Ontario. She is a designer, photographer, Social Media junkie and blogger. Her former life included advertising, marketing, and life in the big city. You can follow her on twitter @jennileeblack

Posted on April 18, 2011, in My Bear and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Cherish each and every moment. They grow so fast

  2. Alone time with each child is so important. Thanks for the reminder. This was so sweet it brought a tear to my eye. What a darling:)

Leave a Reply

