Testing the waters…

I was approached almost a year ago about starting a blog but I really had no idea where to begin. “I don’t know the first thing about writing, blogging, making a website. I’m just a mom. A photographer. A designer…. definitely NOT a writer!” was my reply. “Who would want to hear what I have to say?!?!?

“Don’t worry, you’ll figure it out. Just jump right in.” was the advice I got.

Well, I’m the first to admit, I do have opinions. I do have a lot to say. There are BIG topics that are always on the forefront of my brain….but really?! Put them out there for all to read… in black & white… forever…. ??  That’s just not me.

And then I looked at my life. What am I doing? I mean, what am I REALLY doing?!

• I’m a mom. (BEST and most important job in the world! )

• I’m a wife and supporter to my “AGvocating” husband.  (@waynekblack)

• I’m a part time photographer. (no pay, for the most part, but makes me happy and allows my creative juices to flow)

• I’m the founder of our local Down Syndrome Support Group ~ Club 21 (great – but I know I have a lot more to offer than planning easter egg hunts :S )

So, what’s my passion? What’s my purpose? What’s my living truth?!?! (for more on this idea visit http://elizabethpottsweinstein.com/)

And then it hit me!   Awareness.   Opening people’s eyes.

Asking the world to open their eyes to the world around them. To step outside their comfort zones and see that there is so much we can offer each other IF we can see outside ourselves.

Down Syndrome, Local Food, Green Energy, ….pick a topic. any topic. Common sense needs to make a come back in our society and I’d like to help.

I know, big ideals, a little lofty, …one blog isn’t going to change the world.  I don’t think my voice is going to move mountains but I do think, if I pick the topics that are a part of my everyday life that I know society doesn’t understand, I can help educate. And if I start with my topics, and others follow through on theirs, the world can be changed. I want to be a part of that. So, I will try to blog!

Next question….How do I start? Where do I go? What do I call it? What would my focus be?…Help!

As the year passed, I did my research. Read a lot of blogs. Started accessing my twitter account on a more regular basis and found a huge source of inspiration. I “met” people I can relate to. I stepped out of my comfort zone and put my opinions “out there”. Found a world full of people who actually might agree with my thoughts, can relate to my concerns and who share similar ideas.

So here I am. Rough. Ignorant. Completely at a loss but trying never the less.

I want to tell you about my family. My son who is too smart for his age and can’t relate to his peers. My daughter who has Down Syndrome but who has never in her 5 years of life been defined by that diagnosis. My youngest who believes she can conquer any task you put before her and does through sheer spite. My husband who is a farmer through and through but uses his talents to fight for an industry no longer understood by society…..

I want to tell you all so much…. but for now, I’m going to use this first post to “test the waters” and see if this blogging thing is me.

About Jen Black

Jennifer is a stay at home mom of three raising her family with her "agvocating" husband on a farm in Huron County, Ontario. She is a designer, photographer, Social Media junkie and blogger. Her former life included advertising, marketing, and life in the big city. You can follow her on twitter @jennileeblack

Posted on April 5, 2011, in Just my thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Sounds to me like you are off on the right foot. Share what you are passionate about and people will get it! Nicely written… from one lady who is “just a mom” to another 🙂

  2. You’re off to a fantastic start! Congratulations!

  3. Yay for blogging! You have a reader if you choose to keep blogging!
    🙂

  4. This is a wonderful start to blogging! Keep writing and pursuing those passions. I look forward to hearing about them more 🙂

  5. Awesome Jen! Can’t wait for more!!

  6. I have often thought to myself “I am surprised she doesn’t have a blog” as I know you have a lot to say, and to contribute.
    Good luck, have fun with it and always remember to do it for yourself. Write as you are, about who you are, and never apologize for who you are. It’s what makes you, you and what brings people here in the first place.

    🙂

  7. Love it!! Looking forward to reading your next blog!!

  8. Way to go, look forward to reading more.

  9. I have been playing with the idea of starting a blog since our son was born with special needs. You just gave me the courage to do it myself! Your posts are very well written. Thank you

Leave a Reply

